Kate Hudson: Film is powerful

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kate Hudson thinks the ‘beauty’ of movies is that they ‘invoke conversations’.

The Hollywood actress appears in political thriller The Reluctant Fundamentalist alongside Kiefer Sutherland, Riz Ahmed and Liev Schreiber.

In an interview with moviehole.net the journalist suggested that the movie will alter the public’s view on the September 11 tragedy and the groups vilified in the wake of the shattering news.

Kate is thankful films wield such power.

‘I’m trying to think of something specifically that had a real effect and changed my view on something. I think the thing I love about film is that it’s not necessarily about the ideas trying to change your mind but as to invoke a conversation or make you think about something or see something from a different perspective,’ she told the website.

‘You see a movie like Flight and you kind of see it from the perspective of a man whose life is just falling apart at the seams. But somehow you connect with it and you go on this journey with this man. That’s the beauty of film. You get to step inside a story for two hours and it becomes a conversation.’

Meanwhile, co-star Riz revealed which film changed his perception of his favourite movie genre. The actor says Terrence Malick’s 1998 flick The Thin Red line had a profound effect on him.

‘I think a film for me that really blew my mind was The Thin Red Line. I grew up loving action movies and the ballet of an amazing action scene. Terminator 2 is one of my favourite films of all time. As an 18-year-old I was sick in bed, and I watched The Thin Red Line. And it had the ballet and the choreography and the poetry of violence but also the cruelty of it. Just so heartbreaking. That was something that forever flipped my perception of the archetypal man pursuit of going to war. Of fighting. It always has a line of tragedy underneath it for me now whenever I watch war on screen.’

The Reluctant Fundamentalist debuted at Venice Film Festival in August and hits UK cinemas next month.

Leave a Reply

