Johnson wanted to play Hercules ‘for 15 years’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dwayne Johnson says he has wanted to play Hercules for over a decade.

The wrestler-turned-actor told MTV News that his forthcoming role is a long-term passion project.

Hercules will be directed by Brett Ratner and based on Steve Moore’s 2008 graphic novel Hercules: The Thracian Wars.

‘The next shoot, I’m really excited about, a passion project I’ve had now on my mind ever since I got into Hollywood, over 15 years now,’ admitted Dwayne.

‘Hercules. I can’t wait. We’re going to shoot that in Croatia and Budapest. I’ve been preparing for this role now for the good part of a year.’The actor revealed that the mythological Greek was a hero to him growing up.

The role has been played out on the big screen multiple times, from Disney’s 1997 animation film to 1969 movie Hercules in New York, which starred a young Arnold Schwarzenegger.

‘When I first got into movies, I thought, ‘Gosh, I would love to do that one day,’’ admitted Dwayne.

‘I always thought that the version of Hercules that I want to play was one that was more dramatic and survived in barren lands and not necessarily slick in any way or anything like that.’

Hercules: The Thracian Wars will be released in 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

